Large Formula 1 presence revives F1 era at Historic Grand Prix Zandvoort

Large Formula 1 presence revives F1 era at Historic Grand Prix Zandvoort

The Historic Grand Prix Zandvoort will revive the era of the Dutch Grand Prix with the presence of 23 Formula 1 cars from the 70s and 80s. Williams, McLaren, Lotus and Ligier Formula 1 racers will enjoy those who are interested in speed and roaring engines. Races of the FIA Masters Historic Formula One Championship are being held on Saturday August 29 as well as the following Sunday. The qualifying takes place on Friday, so make sure not to miss anything of the action during three full days at Circuit Park Zandvoort.

The last Dutch Grand Prix was organised at the Zandvoort race track 30 years ago. Niki Lauda went into the history books of the last Grand Prix winner, crossing the line first piloting his McLaren on August 25, 1985. The FIA Masters Historic Formula One Championship is a racing series for Formula 1 cars from the era 1966 – 1985. Most competing vehicles have actually participated in a Dutch Grand Prix.

FIA Historic Formula ONE (2)

Back in time
The Formula 1 cars have remained in its original sponsor colours. With a little bit of imagination visitors of the Historic Grand Prix will witness the latest edition of the Dutch Grand Prix. One of the cars that will line up at the grid is the former James Hunt McLaren M26 in its famous Marlboro colour scheme. It’s now piloted by Frank Lyons. Competition comes from Gregory Thornton with his Lotus 91 (1982) in the just as famous gold-black John Player Special livery. The Ligier JS11/15, in which Jacques Laffite has been successful in 1979 and the former Didier Pironi Ligier JS17 from 1981 will be lapping the track in Ginates sponsoring.
Various Williams Formula 1 cars are expected too, one of them in the Saudia colours. An extraordinary example is the Williams FW08 from 1982, the car in which Keke Rosberg clinched his F1 title that season. It will now be piloted by Tommy Dreelan.
However slightly less than expected, with 23 entrants a high-quality Formula 1 grid will be presented.

Many contenders
Michael Lyons won both races of the 2013 Historic Grand Prix Zandvoort. The British driver behind the wheel of the Hesketh 308E belongs therefore to a group of favourites. That also applies to Christophe D’Ansembourg (former Alan Jones Williams FW07/C from 1981) and Gregory Thornton (Lotus 91), as they finished each a race in second place last year. Pay attention to Andy Wolfe too as he is the current championship leader, racing his Tyrrell 011 from 1983. Next to that, Loic Deman may take the top step of the podium as he won several races this season with his Tyrrell 010.
There is also a Pre-1978 division for participants with cars older than 1987. Jason Wright ranks first in this championship and will travel to Circuit Park Zandvoort with his Shadow DN8 from 1978.

Watch Formula 1 from 20 euro
A three-day ticket, including access to the paddock, is in advance booking available for just 40 euro. You can purchase a day ticket for 20 euro. Tickets for children from the age of five to twelve, under guidance of an adult, is half priced. Children under the age of five have free access.
You can purchase your tickets via