Historic Grand Prix Zandvoort welcomes over 40 historic sports cars

Historic Grand Prix Zandvoort welcomes over 40 historic sports cars

The FIA Masters Historic Sports Car Championship travels to the Historic Grand Prix Zandvoort with over 40 ‘Le Mans’ vehicles, including at least eleven Lola T40 race cars. The one-hour race takes place on Sunday August 30 and this promises to become one of the event’s most spectacular highlights. Don’t miss anything of the action of the Historic Grand Prix Zandvoort during three full days from August 28 – 30!

The FIA Masters Historic Sports Car Championship is a regular visitor of the Historic Grand Prix Zandvoort. Although something has changed. The starting grid will be about one and a half times larger than in previous editions! 44 cars of the era 1962 – 1974 are expected to line up at the grid. The charming and fast Lola T70 Mk3B, powered by a five litre V8, dominates the championship. In the first edition of the Historic Grand Prix Zandvoort, Dutchman David Hart won a race with his Lola T70 Mk3B in the forerunner of the series. Leo Voyazides – Simon Hadfield were successful with their 60s model during the last two years. Nine Lola T70 Mk3B cars and its drivers are currently registered, including David Hart who finished second last year. Next to that, some older Lola T70 Mk1 and Mk2 vehicles can be spotted at Circuit Park Zandvoort.

Diverse starting grid

Manfredo Rossi di Montelera is a frontrunner in the series, piloting his Abarth-Osella PA1. The Italian driver made it to the podium in the last three editions of the event, despite his car runs on a two litre engine.

The starting grid features other known sports cars from Chevron, a notable McLaren M1B (5,7 litre!) and several Lola T212 racing cars.

Some GT’s will be seen in the championship as well, like Hans Hugenholtz driving his Ferrari Daytona.

The 60-minute race starts on Sunday at 10.30 hour, so make sure to have found a good spot at the track!


Back in time

Circuit Park Zandvoort was host of several sports cars races in the 1966 – 1975 era. In 1966, three Porsches 906 crossed the line first. Dutchman Ben Pon won this race and fellow countryman Gijs van Lennep finishing in third position. In 1969, Gijs van Lennep won with the Porsche 908. David Piper finished second behind the wheel of a Lola T70. Van Lennep was successful again in 1970, racing the Porsche 917K at his home track.

The sports cars heroes of that era visited Circuit Park Zandvoort in 1975 with former Formula 1 driver Tim Schenken winning the race with his Porsche 917/10.

Three-day access for 40 euro

A three-day ticket, including access to the paddock, is in advance booking available for just 40 euro. You can purchase a day ticket for 20 euro. Tickets for children from the age of five to twelve, under guidance of an adult, is half priced. Children under the age of five have free access.

You can purchase your tickets via www.historicgrandprix.nl/english/tickets/.