Historic Grand Prix Zandvoort welcomes Formula 1 cars from Zandvoort’s Grand Prix era

Historic Grand Prix Zandvoort welcomes Formula 1 cars from Zandvoort’s Grand Prix era

Almost 30 years ago, on August 25, 1985, the final Dutch Formula 1 Grand Prix was held at the Zandvoort circuit. During the Historic Grand Prix Zandvoort, August 28 till 30, many Formula 1 cars from the Dutch Grand Prix era will be returning to the circuit in the dunes. The speed, the sound and the looks of the cars set the hearts of the tens of thousands of spectators racing every year.

In total, the Zandvoort circuit served as the venue for the Dutch Grand Prix 30 times. The inaugural event was held in 1952 with Alberto Ascari as the winner with his Ferrari. On August 25, 1985, more than three decades of Formula 1 tradition at Zandvoort came to an end. Niki Lauda (McLaren) made it into the history books as the last winner.

Three grids with Formula 1 cars

Since its inaugural running in 2012, the Historic Grand Prix Zandvoort has had three grids with Formula 1 cars every year. The FIA Masters Historic Formula One Championship is open for Formula 1 cars from 1966-1985. The Pre ’66 Grand Prix Cars and Pre ’61 Grand Prix Cars categories are largely made up of Formula 1 cars dating from before 1966.

Many of these cars are part of the history of the Dutch Grands Prix.

Legends return at Circuit Park Zandvoort

Two times’ Formula 1 world champion Jim Clark won the Dutch Grand Prix on no less than four occasions. In 1963, he was successful behind the wheel of his Lotus 25. This car is now owned by Andy Middlehurst, who already participated a few times in the Pre ’66 Grand Prix Cars class at the Historic Grand Prix Zandvoort with his special car.

From 1955 till 1958, Stirling Moss became runner-up in the Formula 1 World Championship standings four times in a row. In the final year, he won the Dutch Grand Prix. Alexander van der Lof makes history come alive again with his ex-Moss Maserati 250F.

Last year, Jon Fairley finished second in the first race of the Pre ’66 Grand Prix Cars. His Brabham B11 was raced by Jack Brabham himself. The three times’ world champion won the Dutch Grand Prix on two occasions: in 1960 and in 1966.



The three grids of Formula 1 and Grand Prix cars include machines built by legendary constructors. Names like Williams, Lotus, Brabham and Cooper shone on the entry lists of last year’s event.

Hesketh is less known as a constructor. The team, owned by the rather eccentric Lord Hesketh, won one Formula 1 Grand Prix: the 1975 Dutch Grand Prix. This race also marked James Hunt’s maiden victory in Formula 1.

Both in 2013 and last year, Michael Lyons won both races of the FIA Masters Formula One Championship at the Historic Grand Prix Zandvoort behind the wheel of his Hesketh 308E. Based on these achievements, Lyons is again one of the favourites for success this year.

NS3B1068 kopiëren

Formula 1 demonstrations

In 1978, Lotus was almost unbeatable with its Lotus 79. In that year, the team won eight Grands Prix. The Dutch Grand Prix ended with a 1-2 for the team with Mario Andretti winning from Ronnie Peterson. Last year, two times Indy 500 winner Arie Luyendijk did a beautiful demonstration run with a Lotus 79. The demonstration programme for the upcoming Historic Grand Prix Zandvoort hasn’t been announced yet, but there is no doubt that it will be great and impressive again!

Ticket presale
Tickets for the event are available for presale at www.historicgrandprix.nl. A day ticket is available for just 20 euro and historic race car enthusiasts are able to enjoy the full three-day programme for just 40 euro. All tickets provide access to the paddock in which you can have a look at the historic cars from up close. Children until the age of twelve receive a 50% discount. The Paddock Club is for those who want to experience the Historic Grand Prix as VIP.